A peaceful walk around the pretty village of Denver. The windmill, though under ongoing refurbishment, is a fascinating feature of this walk.
The windmill was built in 1835 and an additional steam-powered mill was added within the following 25 years. During the 1930s the steam engine was replaced by a Blackstone 35hp oil engine and the steam mill refitted as an animal feed mill. The windmill stopped production after being struck by lightning in 1941. The mills' workshops developed into a separate engineering works that carried out work ranging from church organ repairs through agricultural engineering to secret Government work during World War II. The mill site was re-opened by the Norfolk Historic Buildings Trust in 2000 with funding from a number of sources and a section of it (the tearooms) has now re-opened to the public.
The common is predominantly grassland with some scattered shrub and is grazed by cattle. A dyke bisects the site and is lined with species such as eared willow, creeping thistle and white bryony. Open grassy areas attract ground feeding birds such as the green woodpecker.
OS Explorer 236